Home > About us > Overview
About us


     Founded in 1910, the College of Horticulture owns a long history. After the reorganization of the erstwhile Department of Horticulture, the College of Horticulture was established in 2001. Many elder experts and scholars were affiliated with the college at various stages of its development, such as the well-known Chinese horticulturist Professor Wen Wenguang, the fruit storage and processing specialist Professor Li Peiwen and the “father of the watermelon” Professor Huang Changxian, who were the former dean of the Department of Horticulture through its development.

     There are 92 staffs in the college, which contain 79 teaching and research staffs (including 25 professors, 3 researchers and 27 associated professors). Of these, doctoral and master’s tutors number is 23 and 53, respectively. The government granted the State Council special allowance to three of these staff members. The current talent team includes one new leading talent of the Ministry of Agriculture for the “Twelfth Five-Year Period” and one for the “Ten Thousand Talent Program”. Furthermore, one of these staff members has been chosen to accede to the new batch of“ National Thousand Youth Talents Plan”, six others have been chosen for the “Thousand, Hundred and Ten Talent Training Project” directed at institutions of higher education in the Guangdong Province. 

     The college consists of nine teaching and teaching assistant units and sixteen research institutions. Protected agriculture science and engineering, horticulture and tea science are the available undergraduate programs. The subfields of horticulture are pomology, vegetable science, ornamental horticulture, horticultural biotechnology, horticultural product storage and circulation direction, and seed science and engineering. Meanwhile, tea science, tea processing and trade, and brand marketing are the areas that can be studied in the context of tea science. Furthermore, the college has one primary discipline and four secondary discipline doctoral degree authorization points in horticulture science, which also includes seven master’s degree authorization points and one postdoctoral research center. In 2014, the Ministry of Education, in cooperation with the Ministry of Agriculture and the State Forestry Administration, organized the “Outstanding Agriculture and Forestry Talents Education Training Plan”, the first batch of which was awarded to the horticulture discipline in our college.